The work of Christ Church Global (CCGlobal) again took center stage at the 3rd annual Pastor’s Founders Circle held in Seabrook Hall on April 27. More than 200 guests were in attendance to celebrate and support the mission of CCGlobal to:

Share the Good News of Jesus Christ and equip the body of Christ for service through the vehicles of leadership, media and technology.

The evening’s keynote speaker, Dr. Andrew Thompson, pastor of First UMC in Springdale, AR, talked about Shaping the Messengers for the 21st Century & Beyond, which was meant to encourage a discussion of Christian growth and formation in our day. Listen to his entire remarks here.

A number of awards were presented including the two top honors (click on each award winner’s name to watch acceptance speech):  

Buckman/Mollerup Award for Innovation in Christian Ministry named for Bob Buckman and Joyce Mollerup, who gave the initial grant that helped establish CCGlobal and Asbury-Memphis. This year’s award winner is Dr. Ken Steorts of Visible Music College.

Dunnam Award for Writing in the Wesleyan World named in honor of Dr. Maxie Dunnam. This year’s receipients are Jim & Jennifer Cowart for Living the Five and Grab, Gather, Grow.

As the Cowarts accepted their award at the end of the night, Jim remarked that he felt like he’d sat in on a family reunion given the endearing award presentations and acceptance speeches of the night.

One highlight that will be remembered is Ross Dyer and his daughter Mary Elizabeth presenting the Christ Academy Award for Leadership-Legacy to father/grandfather Tom Dyer. Watch this special moment here.

Two We Believe in Memphis episodes were selected for awards: Ashley Parks for Special Needs Ministry & Memphis JOY Prom and W. J. Michael Cody for the episode featuring his work with Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

Christ Academy awards were also presented as follows with links to their segment of the evening:

Serving Initiative: Linda Headley

Serving Initiative | Entrepreneurship in Servant Leadership: Erin Harris for Carpenter Art Garden

Award for Teaching-Legacy: Dr. Dick Ross (posthumous) & Don Bourland

Award for Leadership-Legacy: Bill Thompson

Award for Leadership 2016: Michael Drake & Kirk Bailey

Award for Teaching 2016: Jim Duncan & Kathryn Naifeh

%d bloggers like this: